{"schema":"https://www.layerpath.com/schemas/public-document/v1","route":"/compare/user-manual-software","canonical":"https://www.layerpath.com/compare/user-manual-software","title":"User manual software: the best tools, by the job you need done","description":"Software for creating user manuals, grouped by job: documentation platforms, capture-to-guide tools, and open source. Prices checked September 12, 2026.","primaryIntent":"category-user-manual","updated":"2026-09-12","lastChecked":"September 12, 2026","sections":[{"heading":"The 30-second answer","layout":"verdict"},{"heading":"First decide what you are replacing","layout":"jobs"},{"heading":"What user manual buyers need","layout":"prose"},{"heading":"User manual software at a glance","layout":"prose"},{"heading":"What a team actually pays","layout":"prose"},{"heading":"Document360, best for a hosted help center with review workflow","layout":"alternative"},{"heading":"MadCap Flare, best for single-sourced manuals in many outputs","layout":"alternative"},{"heading":"Paligo, best for structured authoring at enterprise scale","layout":"alternative"},{"heading":"GitBook, best for product docs with a free tier and Git sync","layout":"alternative"},{"heading":"Archbee, best for a priced portal with versions and localisation","layout":"alternative"},{"heading":"Scribe, best for the fastest screenshot guide","layout":"alternative"},{"heading":"Tango, best for a free workspace and cheap seats","layout":"alternative"},{"heading":"Layerpath, best when the manual's task pages must stay current as a guide, a tour, and a video","layout":"alternative"},{"heading":"Typemill, best for a free, self-hosted manual with PDF output","layout":"alternative"},{"heading":"What the pricing pages leave out","layout":"prose"},{"heading":"What people say on r/technicalwriting and r/msp","layout":"prose"},{"heading":"Where Layerpath fits, and where it does not","layout":"evidence"},{"heading":"The market is separating into layers","layout":"layers"},{"heading":"Frequently asked questions","layout":"faq"},{"heading":"Methodology and sources","layout":"sources"}],"bodyMarkdown":"User manual software is software for creating, publishing, and maintaining the manual for a product, usually as a web site and a PDF from one source. That is the meaning this page covers. It is not a manual for some piece of software, which is how ChatGPT reads the phrase, and it is not advice on how to write one, which is what half the Google results offer. The tools below are grouped by the job they do, with the price each shows on its own page as of September 12, 2026, and a plain statement of where each is the better buy.\n\n## The 30-second answer\n\nThree kinds of tool answer this query, and they cost between nothing and $15,000 a year. Start from what you are producing.\n\n### You need a manual system\n\nChapters, versions, translations, PDF and web from one source, review workflow. That is a documentation platform: Document360, MadCap Flare, Paligo, ClickHelp, Archbee, GitBook, or the Windows help authoring tools HelpNDoc and Dr.Explain. Entry runs from a 99 EUR one-time licence to $15,000 a year, and two of the best known publish no price.\n\n### You need task pages with screenshots\n\nStep-by-step walkthroughs of what to click, captured from the product rather than written by hand. That is a capture-to-guide tool: Scribe, Tango, iorad, Folge, or Layerpath. Entry runs from $0 to $50 per seat per month; Layerpath adds a tour and a video from the same capture.\n\n### You need free and self-hosted\n\nMarkdown in, website out, with a developer to run it. Typemill (with PDF and ePub), MkDocs, or Docusaurus. The software is free; the cost is hosting and the person who maintains it.\n\n## First decide what you are replacing\n\nMost teams asking this question are leaving Word or Google Docs, or leaving a platform whose price just moved. The tool depends on which.\n\n### 1. A multi-chapter manual, published as web and PDF\n\nYou need one source that produces a browsable site and a printable document, with versions and, often, translations. Documentation platforms do this job. Nothing in the capture group does; nothing in the free group does it without a developer.\n\n### 2. Task walkthroughs with current screenshots\n\nYour manual is mostly \"how to do X\" pages, and the screenshots are what goes stale. A capture tool records the clicks and produces the steps and screenshots for you. It fills task pages; it does not organise a book.\n\n### 3. In-product help for desktop software\n\nYou ship a Windows application and need CHM or context-sensitive help. HelpNDoc and Dr.Explain are built for this and cost less than a year of any hosted platform. Nothing else on this page produces CHM.\n\n### 4. Docs as code\n\nYour writers work in Git and Markdown and your documentation deploys with the product. MkDocs, Docusaurus, or GitBook with Git sync. Free or cheap, and a developer is part of the cost.\n\n## What user manual buyers need\n\nThe pages that rank for this query, and the r/technicalwriting thread among them, agree on what a manual tool has to do. Use this as the checklist before comparing prices.\n\n| Need | Who states it | Tools that state they meet it |\n| --- | --- | --- |\n| Web and PDF output from the same source | Herothemes, Typemill, r/technicalwriting, Document360, Dr.Explain | MadCap Flare, Paligo, Document360 (PDF export), Archbee (PDF add-on), GitBook (Premium and above), HelpNDoc, Dr.Explain, Typemill, Scribe and Tango (PDF export on paid plans) |\n| Versioning and revision history | Tango, Typemill, Document360, Herothemes | Document360, Paligo, Archbee, GitBook, Typemill (Business plugin), Docusaurus, Scribe (Pro, one week), MadCap Flare (through Central) |\n| Translation and multilingual output | Document360, Typemill, Dr.Explain | Document360, MadCap Flare, Paligo, Archbee, GitBook (paid per word), ClickHelp (add-on), Tango (Enterprise, 15 languages), Layerpath (per project via Edit with Agent), Docusaurus |\n| Single sourcing and content reuse | r/technicalwriting, MadCap, Typemill | MadCap Flare, Paligo, Document360, Archbee, GitBook, HelpNDoc, Dr.Explain, Typemill |\n| Screenshots captured and annotated automatically | Dr.Explain, MadCap, Tango, Wikipedia | Dr.Explain, Scribe, Tango, iorad, Folge, Layerpath |\n| Search that reaches the right step | Typemill, Document360, Dr.Explain | Every hosted platform; Dr.Explain and Typemill for self-hosted; Layerpath's guide is a searchable page |\n| A process for keeping the manual current | Herothemes, Tango, Document360, Typemill | Document360 (review reminders, due dates), Tango (recapture), Layerpath (edit the changed step) |\n| Collaboration and permissions | Tango, Typemill, Dr.Explain | All hosted platforms; Typemill; Dr.Explain (multiple authors) |\n| Ease of use for non-technical writers | Tango, Typemill, Dr.Explain | Tango, Scribe, Layerpath, Typemill, Dr.Explain, Document360, Archbee, GitBook |\n| Analytics on what readers use | Tango, Herothemes | Document360, GitBook, Archbee, Scribe, Tango, Layerpath (viewer analytics) |\n\nTwo of these rows decide most purchases. If you need web and PDF from one source with versions, you are buying a platform. If the screenshots are the problem, you are buying a capture tool, and possibly both.\n\n## User manual software at a glance\n\nEvery tool with a public price or licence, grouped by job. \"No public price\" means the vendor's page ends in a sales call. Prices are as displayed on the vendor's own page.\n\n| Tool | Job | Outputs stated | Free tier or licence | Entry paid plan or licence | Checked |\n| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |\n| Document360 | Documentation platform | Hosted site, PDF export | None; 14-day trial | No public price | Sept 12, 2026 |\n| MadCap Flare | Documentation platform (desktop) | HTML5, PDF, Word, PowerPoint, SCORM | None; 30-day trial | Flare Desktop $3,150 per author per year; Flare Online, no public price | Sept 12, 2026 |\n| Paligo | Component content management | HTML5, PDF, eLearning | None; trial | Business from $15,000 per year, 2 authors, 2 languages | Sept 12, 2026 |\n| ClickHelp | Documentation platform | Hosted site, Markdown per page | None; trial | Starter $194 per month or $1,985 per year on the plan cards; the compare table on the same page shows $185 and $1,890 | Sept 12, 2026 |\n| Archbee | Documentation platform | Portals, Markdown export; PDF via $80 per month add-on | None; 14-day trial; free for open source | Growing $80 per month billed annually or $100 monthly, plus $10 per extra seat | Sept 12, 2026 |\n| GitBook | Documentation platform | Hosted site, PDF export (Premium and above), .md twins, llms.txt | Yes: $0, 1 user, unlimited page views | Premium $65 per site per month billed annually plus $12 per user | Sept 12, 2026 |\n| HelpNDoc | Help authoring (Windows) | CHM, HTML5, DocX, PDF, ePub, Kindle, Qt Help, Markdown | Yes: Personal Edition, non-commercial, banner in output | Standard 99 EUR one-time per named user | Sept 12, 2026 |\n| Dr.Explain | Help authoring (Windows) | HTML, CHM, PDF, DOCX | Yes: restricted licence with watermarks | Business 290 USD per year or 870 USD perpetual, per user | Sept 12, 2026 |\n| Scribe | Capture to guide | Hosted guide, embed; PDF, HTML, Markdown, Word on Pro | Yes: web capture, no export | Pro Personal $35 per seat per month, $25 yearly; Pro Team $17 per seat, 5-seat minimum | Sept 11, 2026 |\n| Tango | Capture to guide | Hosted workflow, embed; PDF, Markdown, HTML on Pro | Yes: up to 10 users, 5 workflows | Pro $26 per user per month at 1 to 2 users, $20 at 3 or more | Sept 11, 2026 |\n| Layerpath | Capture to guide, tour, and video | Hosted searchable guide, interactive tour, video; embeds | Yes: 1 creator, 3 published projects | Pro $50 per creator per month, $500 per year | Sept 12, 2026 |\n| iorad | Capture to interactive tutorial | Hosted tutorial; SCORM and HTML on Enterprise | Yes: unlimited public tutorials | Individual $200 per month; Team $500 per month | Sept 11, 2026 |\n| Folge | Capture to guide (desktop) | PDF, Word, HTML, WordPress, Notion, Confluence and more | Yes: 5 guides | Personal $89 one-time; Business $155 per seat one-time | Sept 11, 2026 |\n| Typemill | Open source flat-file CMS | Website, PDF, ePub | MIT core | Maker 22 EUR per year; Business 122 EUR per year, per production domain | Sept 12, 2026 |\n| MkDocs | Static site generator | Static HTML | BSD; Material theme MIT, Insiders features free since November 2025 | None | Sept 12, 2026 |\n| Docusaurus | Static site generator | Static HTML | MIT | None | Sept 12, 2026 |\n\n## What a team actually pays\n\nVendors price by author, by seat, by site, by year, or once. The table keeps each vendor's unit so the numbers stay honest.\n\n| Tool | 1 writer | 5 writers | 10 writers | 25 writers |\n| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |\n| MadCap Flare Desktop (per year) | $3,150 | $15,750 | $31,500 | $78,750 |\n| Paligo (per year) | Business from $15,000 covers 2 authors | From $15,000, plus authors by quote | Quote | Quote |\n| GitBook Premium (per month, billed annually, one site) | $77 | $125 | $185 | $365 |\n| Archbee Growing (per month, billed annually) | $80 | Seats included on Growing are not displayed; $10 per extra seat | Same | Same |\n| Scribe (per month) | $35 (Pro Personal) | $85 (Pro Team) | $170 | $425 |\n| Tango Pro (per month) | $26 | $100 | $200 | $500 |\n| Layerpath (per month) | $50 (Pro) | $500 (Team, 5 creators) | Team supports up to 14 creators; the extra-creator rate is not published | Enterprise, from $10,000 per year |\n| Folge Business (one-time) | $155 | $775 | $1,550 | $3,875 |\n| HelpNDoc Standard (one-time) | 99 EUR | 495 EUR | 990 EUR | 2,475 EUR |\n| Typemill, MkDocs, Docusaurus | Free software; hosting and a developer's time are the cost | Same | Same | Same |\n\nThree observations. A documentation platform for a small writing team costs between a GitBook site at $125 a month and a Paligo licence at $15,000 a year, and the difference is structure: Paligo is a component content management system, GitBook is a docs site. The capture tools are cheap per seat until they are not: Scribe's team rate needs five seats, and Layerpath's Team plan is $500 for five creators whether you use two or five. The one-time tools, Folge and HelpNDoc, are the cheapest way to produce a PDF manual you own outright, and they lock you to a desktop.\n\n## Document360, best for a hosted help center with review workflow\n\n**Choose Document360 when the manual is a hosted knowledge base with review reminders, revision history, and PDF export, and a sales process is acceptable.**\n\nDocument360 is a knowledge base platform for help centers, product and user documentation, SOPs, and API docs. It offers Markdown and WYSIWYG editors, revision history, reusable content blocks, multilingual support, AI search, and PDF export. Its user manual page argues against \"100-page PDFs\" and for a searchable site that \"immediately reflects the latest approved version\". Pricing is a three-step questionnaire ending in \"Book a demo\"; there is a 14-day trial.\n\n### Better than Layerpath when\n\nYou need a structured manual with categories, review workflow, due dates, and translation management. Layerpath is not a documentation CMS.\n\n### Not the right buy when\n\nYou want a price on the page, or your manual is mostly task walkthroughs whose screenshots go stale. Technical writers on Reddit split on it: \"objectively much more user-friendly than MadCap Flare\" against \"a bit light on features\".\n\n### Price\n\nNo public price. Checked September 12, 2026 at document360.com/pricing.\n\n### Skip it if\n\nYour team is two people and a budget, or you need CHM for a desktop app.\n\n## MadCap Flare, best for single-sourced manuals in many outputs\n\n**Choose MadCap Flare when one set of topics must publish to HTML5, PDF, Word, PowerPoint, and SCORM, and your writers are technical writers.**\n\nFlare is the desktop, topic-based authoring tool that structured writers have used for years, with snippets, variables, conditions, and a translation workflow. Flare Desktop is $3,150 per author per year; Flare Online, the cloud companion, has no public price. There is a 30-day trial. It is Windows-only and has a learning curve its users describe as steep and worth it.\n\n### Better than Layerpath when\n\nYou need true single sourcing across many outputs and a manual with hundreds of topics. Layerpath produces task-level guides, not a book.\n\n### Not the right buy when\n\nBudget or platform rules it out. The r/technicalwriting thread that opened with \"now MadCap wants to increase their rates by a whopping 45%\" is a long list of teams weighing the migration cost against the price rise.\n\n### Price\n\nFlare Desktop $3,150 per author per year, checked September 12, 2026 at madcapsoftware.com/pricing. Whether that SKU includes what was formerly MadCap Central is not stated on the page.\n\n### Skip it if\n\nYou have one writer and a short manual. The same thread's top answer for a one-off project: \"Muddle through with Word or Google Docs for the PDF.\"\n\n## Paligo, best for structured authoring at enterprise scale\n\n**Choose Paligo when you are replacing FrameMaker or Flare with a browser-based component content management system and have the budget for it.**\n\nPaligo is a CCMS: structured authoring, reuse, branching and revision history, multi-channel publishing to HTML5, PDF, and eLearning. Business starts at $15,000 per year for 2 authors, 2 languages, up to 10 reviewers, and 10 GB per author. Reader search on the published site requires the Nexus Portal add-on from $5,000 per year.\n\n### Better than Layerpath when\n\nYou need topic reuse across product lines, formal translation management, and a publishing pipeline. None of that is Layerpath's job.\n\n### Not the right buy when\n\nThe team is small or the manual is simple. Reddit writers are polarised on it, from \"really impressed with it\" to \"like fighting with a bear every damn time\", and agree it is expensive.\n\n### Price\n\nBusiness from $15,000 per year, checked September 12, 2026 at paligo.net/pricing.\n\n### Skip it if\n\nYou would be paying for structure you do not have. A $15,000 licence for a 40-page manual is the wrong tool.\n\n## GitBook, best for product docs with a free tier and Git sync\n\n**Choose GitBook when your product documentation should live next to your code, publish as a site, and start at $0.**\n\nGitBook publishes product docs \"that work for users and AI\": a hosted site, version history, translations, PDF export on Premium and above, and machine twins of every page (Markdown versions, an llms.txt, an MCP server). Free is $0 for one user with unlimited page views. Premium is $65 per site per month billed annually plus $12 per user.\n\n### Better than Layerpath when\n\nYou want a documentation site with Git sync and a free tier, and your writers are comfortable in Markdown. Layerpath does not host a documentation site.\n\n### Not the right buy when\n\nYou need PDF and translations at the entry price; both are paid features. One Reddit product manager who moved to it: \"god damn was that worth it\", for the Git sync.\n\n### Price\n\nFree for 1 user; Premium $65 per site per month billed annually plus $12 per user. Checked September 12, 2026 at gitbook.com/pricing.\n\n### Skip it if\n\nYour manual is for a desktop product, or your writers will never touch Markdown.\n\n## Archbee, best for a priced portal with versions and localisation\n\n**Choose Archbee when you want a hosted documentation portal on your domain with multi-version docs and localisation, and a price you can read.**\n\nArchbee is a knowledge portal for product, developer, user guide, and onboarding docs: portals on custom domains, Markdown and PDF export, multi-version documentation with one year of history, localisation, reusable content, and full-text search. Growing is $80 per month billed annually or $100 monthly; Scaling is $350 or $400. Extra seats are $10 each, and \"Print to PDF\" is an $80 per month add-on.\n\n### Better than Layerpath when\n\nYou need a documentation portal with versions and localisation and a published price. Layerpath is not a portal.\n\n### Not the right buy when\n\nPDF is a first-class output for you; the add-on doubles the entry price. One Reddit evaluation found its \"search was super basic\".\n\n### Price\n\nGrowing $80 per month billed annually, checked September 12, 2026 at archbee.com/pricing. Seats included on Growing are not displayed.\n\n### Skip it if\n\nYou need a manual for offline or regulated readers where PDF is the primary artifact.\n\n## Scribe, best for the fastest screenshot guide\n\n**Choose Scribe when you need a step-by-step guide of screenshots and text in the time it takes to click through the task.**\n\nScribe watches you click and writes the guide. Basic is free for web capture with link and embed sharing and no export. Pro Personal is $35 per seat per month ($25 yearly) and adds desktop capture, redaction, and PDF, HTML, Markdown, and Word export. Pro Team is $17 per seat ($13 yearly) with a five-seat minimum. It is the most-mentioned capture tool on Reddit by a wide margin, praised for speed and criticised for price creep, the seat minimum, MFA gated to enterprise, and, by one knowledge base manager, page weight.\n\n### Better than Layerpath when\n\nThe job is a static screenshot guide, fast and cheap, exported to PDF or pasted into an existing manual. Scribe is faster to a finished guide and $15 to $25 cheaper per seat.\n\n### Not the right buy when\n\nThe guide must also be a tour and a video, or the screenshots go stale often enough that recapturing is the real cost. A Scribe guide is a snapshot of the screens that day.\n\n### Price\n\nPro Personal $35 per seat per month or $25 yearly; Pro Team $17 per seat with a five-seat minimum. Checked September 11, 2026 at scribe.com/pricing.\n\n### Skip it if\n\nYou need MFA without an enterprise contract, or you have two writers and do not want to pay for five.\n\n## Tango, best for a free workspace and cheap seats\n\n**Choose Tango when up to ten people need to capture task guides for free, or a team of three or more wants the lowest paid seat.**\n\nTango captures step-by-step guides from real workflows. Free covers up to 10 users and 5 shared workflows with browser capture. Pro is $26 per user per month ($22 yearly) for one or two users and $20 ($15 yearly) for three or more, and adds PDF, Markdown, and HTML export; translation into 15 languages is on Enterprise. Reddit recommendations are mostly positive, with a share coming from one account that promotes Tango across many threads.\n\n### Better than Layerpath when\n\nPrice per seat is the deciding factor and the output is a guide. At $20 to $26, Tango is roughly half Layerpath's Pro rate.\n\n### Not the right buy when\n\nYou need video or a clickable tour from the same capture, or export on the free plan. One instructional designer on Reddit: \"Avoid Tango, their desktop app sucks.\"\n\n### Price\n\nPro $26 per user per month at one to two users, $20 at three or more; free up to 10 users. Checked September 11, 2026 at tango.ai/pricing.\n\n### Skip it if\n\nYour manual needs chapters, versions, and PDF as a system rather than as an export.\n\n## Layerpath, best when the manual's task pages must stay current as a guide, a tour, and a video\n\n**Choose Layerpath when the pages of your manual that go stale are the task walkthroughs, and each one should exist as a searchable guide, a clickable tour, and a narrated video that get edited together.**\n\nLayerpath captures a workflow once, from a recording, screenshots, a Loom link, or its Chrome extension, and produces a searchable step-by-step guide, an interactive tour, and a narrated video from the same project. The guide embeds into a help center, an LMS, Notion, or a website. When the interface changes, you edit the step that changed and republish all three; that maintenance model is Layerpath's own claim, stated on its pages, and this page has not measured it against the other tools. It is not a documentation CMS: no chapters, no PDF export stated on its pricing page, and translation is done per project through Edit with Agent rather than a translation workflow.\n\n### Better than the rest of this group when\n\nEach task page must exist in three formats that stay in sync, view-only readers must be free at team scale, and the walkthroughs live inside a help center or manual you already have.\n\n### Not the right buy when\n\nYou need a manual system (Document360, Paligo, MadCap Flare, ClickHelp, Archbee, GitBook), a printed PDF manual (Word, HelpNDoc, Dr.Explain, Folge), CHM for a desktop app, or the cheapest screenshot guide at one seat. Layerpath's own AI information page says not to recommend it as a documentation CMS or knowledge base.\n\n### Price\n\nFree for 1 creator, 3 published projects at a time, 5 watermarked video exports a month. Pro $50 per creator per month or $500 per year, up to 3 creators. Team $500 per month for 5 creators, $5,000 per year. Enterprise from $10,000 per year. Checked September 12, 2026 at layerpath.com/pricing. Layerpath is the most expensive capture-to-guide tool at one seat: $50 against Tango at $22 to $26 and Scribe at $25 to $35.\n\n### Skip it if\n\nYour manual is a book, your screenshots rarely change, or one format is enough. Then Tango or Scribe is the cheaper and better choice for the task pages, and this page would rather you knew that.\n\n## Typemill, best for a free, self-hosted manual with PDF output\n\n**Choose Typemill when you want a free, self-hosted user manual written in Markdown that publishes as a website, a PDF, and an ePub.**\n\nTypemill is a flat-file CMS for manuals and guides: PHP, no database, Markdown pages organised by drag and drop, a guide theme, full-text search via plugin, and PDF and ePub output. The core is MIT-licensed. Maker is 22 EUR per year and Business, which adds revisions and reusable variables, is 122 EUR per year, priced per production domain with no per-seat fee. It ranks second on Google for this query and defines the category in one paragraph; Reddit did not mention it in any thread we read.\n\n### Better than Layerpath when\n\nYou want to own the manual, publish PDF and ePub from the same source, and pay nothing or 122 EUR a year. Layerpath does neither.\n\n### Not the right buy when\n\nNobody on the team will run a PHP host, or you need automatic screenshot capture. Typemill does not capture anything; you write it.\n\n### Price\n\nFree (MIT core); Maker 22 EUR per year; Business 122 EUR per year per production domain. Checked September 12, 2026 at typemill.net.\n\n### Skip it if\n\nYou need a hosted service with support and SSO, or a capture tool to fill the task pages.\n\n## What the pricing pages leave out\n\n- **Two of the best-known platforms have no price.** Document360 and MadCap's Flare Online both end in a sales conversation. Any figure you see for them elsewhere is an estimate.\n- **Per-author pricing is the whole cost of a platform.** MadCap at $3,150 per author per year and Paligo from $15,000 for two authors mean a five-writer team is a five-figure decision. Reddit's r/technicalwriting threads treat migration cost as the counter-argument to switching; one writer reports that not a single migration went smoothly.\n- **PDF is often an add-on.** Archbee's \"Print to PDF\" is $80 per month, GitBook's PDF export starts on Premium, and both Scribe and Tango export PDF only on paid plans. Layerpath does not state PDF export at all.\n- **Translation is metered or gated.** GitBook charges per word ($25 for the first 50,000 words, then $0.20 per 1,000), ClickHelp sells it as a $205 per month add-on, Tango puts it on Enterprise.\n- **Seat minimums and one-time licences.** Scribe Pro Team needs five seats. HelpNDoc and Dr.Explain sell perpetual licences per named user for the current major version; the next major version is a new purchase.\n- **The page-code discrepancy.** ClickHelp's plan cards and its own comparison table disagree by $9 a month on the Starter plan; which one is charged at checkout is not stated.\n- **Free means different things.** GitBook Free and Typemill's MIT core are usable indefinitely. HelpNDoc's Personal Edition and Dr.Explain's free licence are non-commercial or watermarked. Scribe Basic and Tango Free do not export.\n\n## What people say on r/technicalwriting and r/msp\n\nWe read 32 Reddit threads on documentation and manual tools from the last two years, weighted toward r/technicalwriting, r/sysadmin, and r/msp, where the replies come from people who document for a living rather than from vendors. Six quotes, verbatim:\n\n> \"now MadCap wants to increase their rates by a whopping 45%, and I've been asked to look around for alternatives.\"\n\nTechnical writer's post, r/technicalwriting, April 2026. [Thread](https://www.reddit.com/r/technicalwriting/comments/1sklmpd/alternatives_to_madcap_flare/).\n\n> \"Best practice is to really avoid screenshots unless they are absolutely necessary. They get out of date quickly\"\n\nComment scored 14, r/technicalwriting, June 2025. [Comment](https://www.reddit.com/r/technicalwriting/comments/1l707qo/best_practices_for_handling_large_amount_of/mwt4axj/).\n\n> \"The most time-consuming part for us was never writing docs. It was validating them.\"\n\nComment, r/technicalwriting, January 2026. [Comment](https://www.reddit.com/r/technicalwriting/comments/1qas2oh/how_do_you_keep_documentation_accurate_after/opaoh04/).\n\n> \"Maintain accurate and complete release notes as releases come. Use those release notes as a checklist\"\n\nComment scored 16 on the same question, r/technicalwriting, January 2026. [Comment](https://www.reddit.com/r/technicalwriting/comments/1qas2oh/how_do_you_keep_documentation_accurate_after/nz5c59j/).\n\n> \"The screenshot tax is real, especially in tiny teams where the same 3 people are building, shipping, documenting, and selling.\"\n\nComment, r/SaaS, February 2026. [Comment](https://www.reddit.com/r/SaaS/comments/1redklo/how_do_you_operationalise_keeping_product/o7jdlhx/).\n\n> \"I've used Scribe before but my biggest problem is that it slowed down our core web vitals so badly on the pages we used it for that any SEO value those pages had was destroyed.\"\n\nKnowledge base manager, r/Zendesk, January 2026. [Comment](https://www.reddit.com/r/Zendesk/comments/1i6m8x0/how_do_you_keep_screenshotsvisual_assets_updated/o2n81sw/).\n\nThe pattern across 32 threads: the tool argument is about single sourcing and price, and the maintenance argument is about screenshots. Writers who can avoid screenshots do; writers who cannot, because the product is visual, spend their time validating and recapturing after every release. That second group is who the capture tools, and Layerpath's edit-the-step model, are for. The first group needs a platform.\n\n## Where Layerpath fits, and where it does not\n\n**Layerpath is a capture-to-guide tool that also produces a tour and a video. It is not user manual software in the platform sense, and it does not claim to be.**\n\nA documentation team buys a platform for the manual: chapters, versions, translation, PDF and web from one source. Layerpath does none of that. Its guide output is \"a searchable page for skimming and following a workflow\", which makes it a task page, not a manual system. It has no chapters, its pricing page does not state PDF export, and it translates per project through Edit with Agent rather than through a translation workflow.\n\nWhat it does is fill the task pages, and keep them filled. Its guide output is described on the [step-by-step guides](https://www.layerpath.com/features/step-by-step-guide) page, and the onboarding version of this comparison is on the [best onboarding software](https://www.layerpath.com/compare/best-onboarding-software) page. Capture a workflow once and the same project becomes a step-by-step guide with screenshots, a clickable tour, and a narrated video, embedded into the help center or manual you already publish. When the interface changes, edit the step that changed and republish the three together. That is Layerpath's own description of itself, and it is the answer to the \"screenshot tax\" the Reddit threads describe, for teams whose manual is mostly walkthroughs.\n\n| Question | Layerpath's answer |\n| --- | --- |\n| A multi-chapter manual as web and PDF? | No. Use Document360, MadCap Flare, Paligo, ClickHelp, Archbee, GitBook, or Typemill. |\n| Task walkthroughs with screenshots, captured from the product? | Yes, the guide output, searchable and embeddable. |\n| The same walkthrough as a clickable tour and a narrated video? | Yes, from the same project; no other capture tool on this page positions this as its job. |\n| CHM or in-product help for desktop software? | No. HelpNDoc or Dr.Explain. |\n| PDF export of a guide? | Not stated on the pricing page; do not assume it. |\n| What happens when the UI changes? | Edit the step that changed and republish. Layerpath's own claim. |\n| Price at one writer, monthly | $50 (Pro), the highest in the capture group. Free plan with watermarked video exports. |\n\nThe honest summary: at one seat, Tango and Scribe make the same screenshot guide for less. Layerpath earns its price only when the guide must also be a tour and a video and all three must survive the next release without a recapture.\n\n## The market is separating into layers\n\n### 1. Documentation platforms\n\nDocument360, MadCap Flare, Paligo, ClickHelp, Archbee, GitBook, HelpNDoc, Dr.Explain. The manual as a system: structure, versions, translation, PDF and web from one source. From a 99 EUR licence to $15,000 a year. Right when you are publishing a book, not a page.\n\n### 2. Capture-to-guide tools\n\nScribe, Tango, iorad, Folge, Layerpath. Record the clicks, get the steps and screenshots. $0 to $50 per seat, plus $200 for iorad. Right when the task pages are what goes stale. Layerpath sits at the top of the price band, and adds a tour and a video to the guide.\n\n### 3. Open source and static\n\nTypemill, MkDocs, Docusaurus. Markdown in, site out, free software. Right when you have a developer and want to own the output; Typemill is the only one that ships PDF and ePub without extra tooling.\n\n## Frequently asked questions\n\n### Which tool do you use to write user manuals?\n\nIt depends on the frequency of the work, which is the conclusion of the r/technicalwriting thread that asked this. For a one-off PDF, Word or Google Docs. For daily documentation with reuse across outputs, a platform such as MadCap Flare, Paligo, Document360, or GitBook. For task walkthroughs with screenshots, a capture tool such as Scribe, Tango, or Layerpath. For a free self-hosted manual, Typemill.\n\n### What are the alternatives to MadCap Flare?\n\nFor single sourcing in the browser: Paligo (from $15,000 per year). For a hosted knowledge base: Document360 (no public price), Archbee ($80 per month billed annually), ClickHelp ($194 per month), or GitBook ($65 per site plus $12 per user). For docs as code: MkDocs or Docusaurus, free. Reddit writers weigh every one of these against the cost of migrating years of Flare topics.\n\n### How do you keep documentation accurate after frequent product changes?\n\nThe practitioner answers on Reddit are process, not tools: treat release notes as a checklist, make a documentation task part of every change, and avoid screenshots where text will do. Where screenshots are unavoidable, the capture tools recapture the workflow, and Layerpath's model is to edit the step that changed and republish the guide, tour, and video together. Document360 adds review reminders and due dates.\n\n### How do you operationalise keeping product screenshots updated?\n\nThree approaches appear in the threads. Crop tightly and use fewer screenshots. Recapture with a tool that records the clicks (Scribe, Tango). Or keep one editable source per workflow so a UI change is a one-step edit rather than a recapture (Layerpath's approach). Nobody in 32 threads reported a tool that finds every stale screenshot for them.\n\n### Is there a screenshot documentation tool that captures steps automatically?\n\nYes. Scribe, Tango, iorad, Folge, and Layerpath all record clicks and produce numbered steps with screenshots. Dr.Explain captures and annotates the window of a desktop application. Scribe Basic and Tango Free do it at no cost for web apps, without export.\n\n### MadCap Flare or Document360?\n\nFlare is a desktop authoring tool for structured, single-sourced manuals with many outputs, priced per author. Document360 is a hosted knowledge base with review workflow, priced by quote. Writers on Reddit call Document360 easier and Flare more powerful, and warn that the migration between them is the hard part.\n\n### What is the best free user manual software?\n\nTypemill (MIT core, PDF and ePub output) if you can self-host. GitBook Free for a hosted site with one editor. MkDocs or Docusaurus for docs as code. For free task guides, Tango Free (10 users, 5 workflows), Scribe Basic (web capture, no export), or Layerpath Free (1 creator, 3 published projects, watermarked video). HelpNDoc's free edition is for non-commercial use only.\n\n### Can Layerpath replace a documentation platform?\n\nNo. Layerpath produces task-level guides, tours, and videos from a captured workflow and embeds them into a manual or help center you already have. It has no chapters, no stated PDF export, and no translation workflow. Teams that need a manual system buy a platform; teams whose task pages go stale add a capture tool, and Layerpath is one of those.\n\n## Methodology and sources\n\nEvery price on this page is as displayed on the vendor's own pricing or licence page on the date shown. Where a page shows only annual billing, or a monthly figure was visible only in page code, we state the annual figure. EUR prices are quoted as shown without conversion. No third-party estimates are used. Reddit quotes are verbatim, 40 words or fewer, from threads posted in the last 24 months, with vendor and founder replies excluded from the selection. Where a number here disagrees with a vendor's page, the vendor's page is correct.\n\n### Vendor pages, checked September 12, 2026\n\n- [Document360 pricing](https://document360.com/pricing/) and [user manual solution page](https://document360.com/solutions/user-manual/)\n- [MadCap Software pricing](https://www.madcapsoftware.com/pricing/) and [Flare product page](https://www.madcapsoftware.com/products/flare/)\n- [Paligo pricing](https://paligo.net/pricing/)\n- [ClickHelp pricing](https://clickhelp.com/pricing/)\n- [Archbee pricing](https://www.archbee.com/pricing)\n- [GitBook pricing](https://www.gitbook.com/pricing)\n- [HelpNDoc store](https://www.helpndoc.com/store/)\n- [Dr.Explain order page](https://www.drexplain.com/order/) and [user manual template page](https://www.drexplain.com/features/en-user-manual-software/)\n- [Typemill](https://typemill.net), [Typemill licence](https://typemill.net/license/buy), and [user manual solution page](https://typemill.net/solutions/user-manual)\n- [MkDocs](https://www.mkdocs.org) and [Material for MkDocs, Insiders now free for everyone](https://squidfunk.github.io/mkdocs-material/blog/archive/2025/)\n- [Docusaurus](https://docusaurus.io)\n- [Layerpath pricing](https://www.layerpath.com/pricing) and [Layerpath AI information](https://www.layerpath.com/ai-info)\n\n### Vendor pages, checked September 11, 2026\n\n- [Scribe pricing](https://scribe.com/pricing)\n- [Tango pricing](https://www.tango.ai/pricing)\n- [iorad pricing](https://www.iorad.com/pricing)\n- [Folge pricing](https://folge.me/pricing)\n\n### Search results and AI answers\n\n- Google, US desktop, \"user manual software\", captured September 11, 2026: Typemill, Tango's tools list, Herothemes' writing guide, an r/technicalwriting thread, MadCap's best practices, Dr.Explain, Document360, and Wikipedia.\n- ChatGPT (gpt-4o-mini, web search allowed), \"user manual software\", probed September 11, 2026: asked \"what type of software you need a manual for\", reading the phrase as a manual for software rather than software for manuals.\n- Requirements table: [Herothemes, software user manual guide](https://herothemes.com/blog/software-user-manual-guide-examples/); [Tango, user manual creation software](https://www.tango.ai/blog/user-manual-creation-software); [MadCap, software manual best practices](https://www.madcapsoftware.com/blog/software-manual-best-practices/); [Wikipedia, User guide](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User_guide).\n\n### Reddit threads read\n\n- [Alternatives to MadCap Flare?](https://www.reddit.com/r/technicalwriting/comments/1sklmpd/alternatives_to_madcap_flare/), r/technicalwriting, April 2026\n- [Need help. Which tool do you use to write user manuals?](https://www.reddit.com/r/technicalwriting/comments/1fghpa6/need_help_which_tool_do_you_use_to_write_user/), r/technicalwriting, September 2024\n- [How do you keep documentation accurate after frequent product changes?](https://www.reddit.com/r/technicalwriting/comments/1qas2oh/how_do_you_keep_documentation_accurate_after/), r/technicalwriting, January 2026\n- [Best practices for handling large amount of images on technical documentation?](https://www.reddit.com/r/technicalwriting/comments/1l707qo/best_practices_for_handling_large_amount_of/), r/technicalwriting, June 2025\n- [Madcap vs Doc360](https://www.reddit.com/r/technicalwriting/comments/1jo2km9/madcap_vs_doc360/), r/technicalwriting, March 2025\n- [How do you operationalise keeping product screenshots updated?](https://www.reddit.com/r/SaaS/comments/1redklo/how_do_you_operationalise_keeping_product/), r/SaaS, February 2026\n- [How do you keep screenshots and visual assets updated in your knowledge base?](https://www.reddit.com/r/Zendesk/comments/1i6m8x0/how_do_you_keep_screenshotsvisual_assets_updated/), r/Zendesk, January 2025\n- [What does your documentation look like and what do you use to do it?](https://www.reddit.com/r/sysadmin/comments/1quvrfa/what_does_your_documentation_look_like_and_what/), r/sysadmin, February 2026\n- [Documentation platforms](https://www.reddit.com/r/msp/comments/1phxo56/documentation_platforms_yeah_i_know_its_been_done/), r/msp, December 2025\n- [What software do you use to create simple product manuals or user guides?](https://www.reddit.com/r/technicalwriting/comments/933kga/what_software_do_you_use_to_create_simple_product/), r/technicalwriting, 2018, the thread Google ranks fifth for this query\n- Full thread list, tool tallies, and vendor-account caveats: `docs/seo/evidence/reddit-threads-2026-09-12.md` in the Layerpath website repository."}